The Outlook Web App allows staff to access their email via a web browser. This is useful if you just need to check your email without having to set it up on a mail application. The Outlook Web App is accessible from any device by going to portal.office.com

*Note: You will not be able to access your email via my.uq.edu.au until you have followed the Access & First Time Access guide below. If you still have issues after following the guide, it is recommended to clear your browser cache.

You will not be able to access Public Folders via OWA at this point in time, you will need to use Outlook via the Office 2016 suite.

If you are missing folders, please follow the below Show More Folders guide.

Remember: exchange.uq.edu.au no longer exists & staff should be using portal.office.com

If you have any problems, please contact the ITS Service Desk on 56000 or help@its.uq.edu.au.

Known Changes

One of the new features is The Focused Inbox: The Focused Inbox separates your inbox into two tabs—Focused and Other. Your most important emails are on the Focused tab while the rest remain easily accessible—but out of the way—on the Other tab. If you would like all your emails to appear in the one inbox, please follow the Focused Inbox guide.

You will not be able to access your email via my.uq.edu.au until you have followed the Access & First Time Access guide below.If you still have issues after following the guide, it is recommended to clear your browser cache.

Staff will no longer be able to log into their emails via exchange.uq.edu.au, It is now accessible from any device by going to portal.office.com

Access & First Time Access

Before you can access your email via my.uq.edu.au you will need to complete the following procedure:

  • Go to portal.office.com
  • Enter your username in the format uqusername@uq.edu.au (e.g. uqjcitiz@uq.edu.au) and click Next

  • UQ Single Sign-on will pop up, just login with your UQ username and password
  • Tick Keep me signed in *Note if you are on a public machine, its best not to tick this box
  • Because this is the first time logging in you will receive a welcome to 365 pop up, Just close it.
  • From the list of Apps please select Outlook
  • You will need to set the location and language settings when you log in for the first time. 

  • Click Save to complete the first time login process.
  • Once complete please follow the Clear your cache process (This process is important if you want to continue to access emails via my.uq.edu.au)

Important Information

  • If you are missing folders, please follow the below Show More Folders guide.
  • The Focused Inbox: If you would like all your emails to appear like the previous version of OWA, please follow the Turn Off Focused Inbox guide below.

Show More Folders

If you have logged in and you cant see any of your folders, the following steps will allow you to see them

While in the Outlook Web App

  • Click on More located on the left menu

Focused Inbox

  • While in Outlook Web App, Click Filter 

  • Untick Show Focused Inbox from the drop-down menu to turn off
  • Tick Show Focused Inbox to turn it on

 

Adding a shared mailbox

Make sure you have followed the above Show More Folders guide first.

  • On the left-hand menu, Right click on your name and select Add shared folder...

  • Type in the email address of the shared mailbox you want to add & select it from the drop-down.

  • Click Add

  • The mailbox will now appear under your mailbox on the left.

If you have any problems, please contact the ITS Service Desk on 56000 or help@its.uq.edu.au.

Settings

You can search for any settings or options via the Settings Menu.
Click the Cog icon on the top-right of the page and use the search bar that displays.

Recover Deleted Emails

  • Click to select Deleted Items
  • Right-click Deleted Items and click Recover deleted items...

  • Use the search bar to search for a specific email or look at the list available.

  • Select the email you want to recover by ticking the box on each email, then click Recover.
  • Click OK on the Recover items window.

  • The email will now be restored to the location it was in before you deleted it.

Automatic replies

  • Click the Cog icon on the top-right of the page
  • Click Automatic replies.

  • Click Send automatic replies and check Send replies only during this time period.
  • Select a Start time and an End time. Your message automatically turns on and off with the assigned dates.
  • Enter your message into the text field.

If you like to send an automatic reply to external users as well, Select Send automatic reply messages to senders outside my organization. This is useful if you want to send a different reply message to external users.

  • Click OK to save.

 

Opening a Hosted Mailbox

Accessing hosted mailboxes using the Outlook Web App

It is recommended that you use Edge or Internet Explorer browsers when accessing Hosted mailboxes.

While in the Outlook Web App

  • Click on your name located on the top-right of the page
  • Select Open another mailbox

  • Type in the mailbox you need to access & select it from the list

  • Click Open

Calendar Sharing

  • At the bottom of the screen, select the Calendar button 

  • At the top of the screen, select Share, and choose the calendar you want to share.

By default, your primary calendar is called "Calendar". If you created other calendars, you can select one of them to share instead. You cannot share calendars owned by other people.

  • Enter the name or email address of the person with whom you want to share your calendar in the Send a sharing invitation in email box.

  • Choose how much information you want this person to see:

Can view when I'm busy lets the person see when you are busy but does not include details such as the event location.

Can view titles and locations lets the person see when you are busy as well as the title and location of events.

Can view all details lets the person see all the details of your events.

Can edit lets the person see all details of your events and edit your calendar (only available when sharing with people in your organization).

Delegate lets the person view and edit your calendar, as well as send and respond to meeting requests on your behalf (only available when sharing with people in your organization).

  • Select Share.