Note: OneDrive is not available to Students and is only available to faculties that have completed the email migration to 365, please see 365 migration project for more information.

You can access your OneDrive via portal.office.com or by following our installation guides.

For personal devices, you can download it from onedrive.com or via your devices app store.

Further guides and support can be found on the Microsoft OneDrive help page.

Please ensure, that as a user of this service, you understand UQ's policies and terms of use.

Accessing OneDrive online

  • Go to the website portal.office.com
  • Enter your username in the format uqusername@uq.edu.au (e.g. uqjcitiz@uq.edu.au).
  • Enter your UQ password
  • Tick Keep me signed in Note if you are on a public machine, it’s best not to tick this box
  • Click Sign in.
  • Click the Menu Box and Select OneDrive

Upload files and folders

  • From the top menu click Upload

  • From the drop-down, select what you want to upload
  • Locate the file or folder you wish to upload
  • Then Upload

Share files and folders within UQ

If you would like to share externally or turn off editing please read the External sharing (Link Settings)guide below.

  • To share a file or folder tick the circle next to it.

  • From the top menu click Share
  • Enter a Name or Email Address to send the link to & add a note if you like.
  • Click Send

The recipient will receive the link in their mailbox

Choose which OneDrive folders to sync to your computer

If you don't want to sync all of your folders in OneDrive to your computer, you can specify which folders you'd like to sync.

Let's get started.

1. Open the Sync your OneDrive files to this PC dialog box using one of these methods:

  • In File Explorer, right-click a folder in OneDrive or OneDrive for Business, and select Choose OneDrive folders to sync.

    A screenshot of the right-click menu in File Explorer with 'Choose OneDrive folders to sync' selected.

    OR

  • Right-click the blue "OneDrive" icon in the notification area on your taskbar, select Settings, select the Account tab, and select Choose folders.

    A screenshot showing the right-click menu for OneDrive, with Settings selected.

    Note: You might need to select the Show hidden icons arrow The Show hidden icons button. next to the notification area to see the OneDrive icon.

2. In the Sync your OneDrive files to this PC dialog box, uncheck any folders you don't want to sync to your computer and select OK.

A screenshot showing the 'Sync your OneDrive files to this PC' dialog box.

Notes: 

  • If you uncheck a folder you are syncing to your computer, the folder will be removed from your computer. The folder and its contents will still be available via your online OneDrive access.

  • The sync settings you choose are unique to each computer unless you're syncing everything everywhere. Also, if you're choosing folders on two computers and you create a new folder on computer A that you want to sync to computer B, you'll need to go to computer B and select the new folder there.

External sharing (Link Settings)

When you are sharing you will see the following option available, Tap it to get to Link Settings

In Link Settings, you can choose who your sharing link gives access to:

  • Anyone    creates a link that anyone can use to access the document or folder, even if they're not logged in to Office 365 or OneDrive.

  • People in <organization>    creates a link that only people in your organization who are logged into Office 365 can use to access the document or folder.

  • People with existing access    returns a link that can be used by people who already have access to the document or folder. It does not change the permissions on the item. Use this if you just want to send a link to somebody who already has access. This option is only available for files and folders in SharePoint team sites.

  • Specific people    creates a link that only the people that you specify can use to access the folder or document. If you click this option, enter the names or email addresses of the people to whom you want to give access to the folder or document.